Cliff Wise
1 min readAug 16, 2020
Photo @sebastianpenalambarri

EMPTY MIND

Just stuff floating around

Little pieces

Of thoughts

Memories mainly

Not much productive work

Going on this morning

In here

Not even restless

As a youth I sat

Every morning

On the back steps

In the sun

It was quiet

Before weed trimmers

Leaf blowers

And the like

Before the morning breeze

Set up

Bob whites still

Were around then

Before all the houses

Were built

You could whistle at them

And they would whistle back

And stuff just floated

In and out

Not memories so much

I didn’t have as many

As I do now

Soon I would walk

To the water

And gaze in

Something about gazing

Into water

I still do that

People ask

What are you looking at

Nothing I say

Just looking

Into the water

I guess that’s enough

For them

They never reply

If they know me

Cliff Wise

Book series - Anxiety is not Depression ‘Bring Order to the Chaos’, ‘Daily Reader’, ‘Questions and Answers’. The view from the inside about these disorders.